top of page

The Reverend Jonny Kinkaid and the Imaginary Nowhere Band


‘We Were Young and We were Happy and We Lived up in the Trees but Now the Good Times Are Over and We’re All Down On Our Knees’

Ft The Twelve Hour Foundation

With special Guests

The Cohen Sisters

1) Some Kind of Genius 2) Holding On 3) Existentialist Supermarket Meltdown Blues 4) Death Song #2

5) I've Found a Reason 6) The Monkey Song 7) Grey Polyester Shirt 8) Superman I am 9) Waiting For the End Of the World 10) Last song, ever!

Jonny says:

“This is probably the most personal collection of songs that I've done and for me, that's what ties these songs together and why I wanted them on one LP. Topics include; self-doubt, depression, insomnia, anxiety, death, disillusionment and the end of times! There is a brief moment of optimism half way through but it doesn't last long.

Although that makes it sound a bit glum and miserable I’d like to think of it as a kind of celebration. It’s a celebration that I stay on top of all this stuff and don’t let it beat me down!”

The Twelve Hour Foundation feature on tracks 1,3 and 8. The Cohen Sisters are on track 4. Arthur Andrew Jay banged drums on tracks 2,6,7 and 9. Rocker did recording, mixing, keyboards and other stuff.

Tim Rippington did recording, mixing and guitar on track 1.


Another name change! What is it with Breaking Down artists? December 2017 sees the third release by the artist now known as Jonny Kinkaid and the Imaginary Nowhere band - here's what Jonny has to say about it:

‘I've got an idea, he grinned.... Let’s record the songs in my bathroom! ‘

I scratched my head.

‘But how do we get all the recording gear in there? ‘

‘Oh never mind all that, well do it on my phone.’ he replied

‘Ok’, I said. ‘I’ve got some really good mics and then we can bounce it down on to multi track and squeeze it thru the sonic processor!’

‘Forget all that’ Jonny insisted. ‘Just record it on the camera phone and stick it up on YouTube..... Job done!’

And that's what we did and here is the extracted sound waves pressed into CD and available on digital

 download for instant gratification!

From the Bathroom...

Fascinating Vampires |Goodbye Mr F | Some People Can Fly |

English Girl | Life Death and Sweet Sweet Music | The Assassination of Jonny K by the Cowardly Frenchman who remains nameless |

Hey Boy! | Boxer Song | Big Big Sleep | Paper Thin | A Long Way From Home | Broken Old Queen | Yeah That’s OK! |

You Can’t Let Go | The Man Who Never Was.

Live at Friendly Records Store

I’ll Be Your Frankenstein | Some People Can Fly

Goodbye Mr F | Fascinating Vampires

Live At Expresso Bongo

I’ll Be Your Frankenstein | The Summer of ‘17

BUY THE CD FROM THE SHOP or go digital at Jonny's bandcamp page

June 20th 2017 sees the release of the debut LP by the enigmatic jon.k, with protest songs and anti protest songs, songs about Princess Anne and songs about Steve Lamacq. Songs about revolution and UFOs. Songs about getting drunk and songs about Life, Death and sweet sweet Music.

The LP was produced by jon.k and Tim Rippington, Tim also played extra guitars on track 13 and backing vocals on 6. Andrew Arthur Jarrett played drums on tracks 6, 10 and 13. Geoff Gorton played bass on tracks 9,10, 11, 12 and 13. Jez Butler played keyboards on track 13 and keyboards & bass on tracks 3, 4, 5, and 6. Em sang backing on track 6, spoke on track 7 and screamed on track 13. Byron the cat sat and listened..... we think he approved!

Jon has this to say..

‘I can't sing and my guitar playing is, at best, PRIMITIVE. Hell! I can't even bash a tambourine in time but that's not the point is it.

So thank god for Dylan and the Velvet Underground and thank god for all the punk rockers! Without them this couldn't exist.’

indiepopkidversesthedemonsoftimeandspace – this is Not a concept album, but……Indiepopkidversesthedemonsoftimeandspace (IN A PARALLEL UNIVERSE) could be an aborted Graphic Novel project of the same name. It tells the story of Indiepopkid and takes place some years after the Punk Rock Wars where Indiepopkid led a band of Rebels against the invading armies known as The Demons of Time and Space. In the years since the end of the war, far from being the hero, Indiepopkid has fallen on hard times. His music is now considered old fashioned by the kids who have all become intoxicated by the corporate music produced by a man known only as ‘X’. Indiepopkid can now be found playing his music in small dark back rooms of bars to a few diehard fans who can just about remember the days of glorious noise and feedback. But nothing happens by accident and it’s in the damp, dark shadows of these long forgotten places the The Demons of Time and Space have found a way back through and are planning their stealthy return. A new war is approaching and Indiepopkid finds himself once again at the front line. This time it could be complicated, just who is ‘X’ and what part is he playing in it all ! Meantime in another reality ‘Eddy Sparkles’, a washed up Glam Rocker from the 70’s is having some serious delusions. Is this the result of the new wonder drug hitting the streets or is he really slipping in and out between two parallel universes and if so who the hell is he? - -

bottom of page